Week 21: Eyeballs and all babe

What a week.

Tuesday we had an extremely unique experience involving a burrito and an entire fried fish and if you want that story you’ll have to email me for it πŸ˜‚

Wednesday we had zone conference! It was the first one with our new mission president and all I can say is just that I’m so happy to be serving with him for the next 14 months. At the end the missionaries who are leaving this transfer all stand up to give their testimonies and it’s usually sweet and a little sad but this time it was SO SAD cause a few of my good friends are leaving and I will miss them and their support so much. We are all responsible for strengthening our own testimonies but I think we’re also allowed to lean on each other a little bit when times get hard. Missions are hard all the time and it’s been a blessing to have so many strong missionaries around me to help me stay up.

After zone conference we had a lesson with the same kid that went to the baptism last week. After we sit down he just starts with, "So I haven’t told you yet but I’ve decided to be baptized with the LDS church." I was literally speechless and Sister K was like, "You’re talking about our church right? Like the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints???" And he was! What a miracle! He’s gonna get baptized at the end of August and we couldn’t be more excited for him.

Thursday we got to volunteer at Mary’s Kitchen again, which is the place that serves hot meals to homeless people and it was so fun. I got to pass out hard boiled eggs and desserts. Sister K got stuck washing dishes 😊

Friday was awesome too! We got an appointment through some elders with a guy that we hadn’t been able to meet yet. But we finally got to teach him and he is so solid! He has read so much of the Book of Mormon and he knows the blessings that come from living the commandments. He doesn’t really understand the Atonement but that’s what missionaries are for. We can’t wait to keep teaching him.

Overall this week was so great and full of weird stories but lots of progress for this area! Today we’re having a little barbeque for some of the departing missionaries and that should be fun. It’s probably mine and Sister Kaufusi’s last week together which makes me so sad but I know that God is taking care of us and we’ll be fine with whatever news that transfer calls bring. I love this work and I love my Savior. I love all of you and I know that Jesus loves you even more. Have a great week!

-Sister Evers

sophia.evers

Leave a Reply

